Copenhagen – Don’t Go For the Food or Wine

Although my brief stay in Copenhagen for the UNFCCC conference was well worth it work-wise, I definitely would not recommend Danish food. Perhaps I shouldn’t be so negative about the wine aspect; they just don’t make any of their own. I WAS very pleased to find some glogg, which was served nice and toasty with slivered almonds and raisins. I was, however, surprised to sample so many mediocre sandwiches! I thought this was an American thing! My first night there, I found a nice little restaurant with vegetarian risotto. The last restaurant I went to with Michael and Laura was a hoot – it was western U.S.-themed, with saddles for bar stools! Sitting in them was a bit awkward. Essentially the only vegetarian item on the menu was fried camambert, but it was more upscale than the street-food Czech version, as it was served on a brioche toast with blackberry sauce. And we split a lovely bottle of Pinot – sorry for not recording the name!

Leave a Reply

