(Almost) Final Night in DC

I’m not sure I’m prepared to get into details about how epic this night (and the following day!) turned out to be, but suffice it to say, DC received the most snow ever in a single day in December (16 inches), which basically stranded everyone. But before we knew how bad it would get, there were lovely drinks and food to be had. 🙂 After my final day of work, which was quite pleasant, thanks to a farewell party and the holiday party, I had happy hour at Circle Bistro with some coworkers. I had a couple glasses of the Jovino Pinot Noir and a Cotes du Rhone from Kermit Lynch. It was an ideal farewell to my IFPRI colleagues! I may have imbibed a bit too much, however, as I don’t think I fully appreciated the ridiculously good – and overwhelming! – 4-course tasting menu with wine pairings that I had at Rasika next! It was our ladies’ Christmas dinner with Rae, Shabboo, Lisa, and Nina. I’m embarrassed to say that I did not adequately record all that I ate or drank, but suffice it to say that I could not finish half the food, or even the wine! The meal started with an amazing, light crispy spinach dish, Palak Chaat, followed by an eggplant/potato “sandwich,” Tawa Baingan. I’m not even sure what my entree was, but it was massive – far too large for a tasting menu! For dessert I enjoyed my very favorite, gulab jamun. Overall a perfect final night, even if it didn’t end up being so final. 🙂

Leave a Reply

