Gustave Lorentz Reserve Gewurztraminer 2007 – LOVE IT

I just want to give a shout out to an incredible wine that I tried around Christmas time, and I have been anxiously waiting for SoMar to get a new supply in ever since! The 2007 Gustave Lorentz Reserve Gewurztraminer from Alsace is amazing. Gewurz is supposed to be a great food wine, but unfortunately, often when I try wine, I’m either at work or coming home from work, so I’m not eating with it. But I will assume it’s true because of the complexity of this wine – there’s a lot of minerality, with citrus and pineapple on the nose, as well as a peachy finish on the taste. I even detected some nuttiness. I think this is the type of wine that reveals something different every time you try it. Unfortunately, I fell asleep before I could finish the glass as I was watching Mondovino last night. By the way, I would recommend this movie as giving good insight into the globalization of the wine industry, although based on his latest book, I find director Jonathan Nossiter to be a self-absorbed egomaniac. So, cheers!

Leave a Reply

