Old Friends and New Wines

I was really lucky this week to meet up with some old friends and also try some new things! Karen happened to be in town for a few days, and I was so happy to get a chance to see her since she wasn’t here at Christmastime. We had a lovely time at Tulipan (of course!), and she was one of the first people I got to show off my new apartment too. It was great to see you K-Dogg!! Then Wednesday, I met up with my friend Chris and his wife Tricia for lunch. I’m so happy to that some high school peeps are still in Wooster; perhaps I will have a social life after all?? 😉 Wednesday night I headed off to Beachwood for the primary purpose of taking a course at the Cleveland Wine School. My original certificate course was postponed until March, but they said I could take some other basic classes for free to make up for it. Although it was pretty fundamental stuff, the instructor was excellent, and I really enjoyed the Pinot Noir and Riesling class! I also took advantage of the opportunity to hit up Trader Joe’s (yessss!), Penzey’s Spice Store (which is an amazing place if you’ve never been), and Fleming’s Steakhouse and Wine Bar. The latter had an extremely long list of wines by the glass (although mostly domestic). The bartender recommended a great Monterey Pinot Noir, a 2007 Belle Glos, which had berry, as well as pepper and earthy tones. Belle Glos’s winemaker’s grandmother was a co-founder of Caymus Vineyards. The guy sitting next to me ordered the Chateau Montelena Cab ($19/glass!!), and when the bartender wasn’t looking, he poured some from the bottle into my glass – haha! So great wine experience, although the food was just so-so – my portabella burger was kind of burnt, but oh well!

Leave a Reply

