Cheers to Amazing Wines and New Friends!

It’s not every day that I get to try relatively expensive wines, but I was fortunate to sample (OK, finish the bottle) a 2004 Enzo Tiezzi Brunello di Montalcino with my lovely new neighbors on Sunday night. It seemed like the wine was just ready to drink; it wasn’t tannic, and it had pleasant but not overwhelming fruit flavors. It may not be a wine I can drink every day, but yesterday, I tried a more affordable and delicious 2008 Hiedler Gruner Veltliner, which was ideally mineral and crisp with citrus notes – a great food wine. I paired it with a yummy eggplant/lentil/bulgur dish I found in Food and Wine – I will be the first to admit that it doesn’t look too appetizing in the photo, but those three items aren’t the most colorful. 🙂 It’s been all about the wine the past few days actually – last night, I joined the Chamber of Commerce Young Professionals for a cooking demonstration, paired with wines from Troutman and Wolf Creek. That was followed by an outing to the Steakhouse – as a result, I have quite the headache today, but the great people that I’ve hung out with the past few days make it well worth it!

Leave a Reply

