Wanderings around Cleveland

Today, I was all excited for a big excursion to Westlake, where I would explore the Crocker Park shopping center. My initial aim was to hit up Trader Joe’s, but I also needed another excuse to drive nearly an hour and 15 minutes. Lo and behold, there is a wine bar in Crocker Park, 87 West! So I finish my shopping and head over  to get some wine and a snack, only to find out that the bar is closed for a private event! This didn’t make  me particularly happy, but I decided to kill some time by watching “Crazy Heart” at the huge cineplex, which is quite a good film by the way. Afterward, it was still pretty early in the afternoon, so I thought I might as well well drive around the area and get to know it!I ended up taking Detroit Ave. all  the way into downtown Cleveland, through Rocky River, Lakewood, etc. I was hoping that something would catch my eye along the way, but since it was Sunday afternoon, not much was open. After meandering around downtown for a bit, I stumbled upon the Spanish restaurant Mallorca. I had heard good things about it, so I decided to check it out. First and foremost, this is not an ideal place for vegetarians. Although I ended up having some good tapas – Iberico cheese with quince and a Spanish tortilla with potatoes – the real substance is in the meat and seafood dishes. However, the food was pleasant, if nothing to write home about, and I washed it down with a Freixenet Cordon Negro Cava, which complemented both dishes well. Although I will let meat eaters give a more objective assessment of the food, I have to say that the service kind of terrified me. It’s the type of place where 5 servers hover over you constantly, refilling your water glass after every sip and just in general making you uncomfortable. Granted, I was by myself, and it was a fairly early dinner, but it was still over done. Go and judge for yourself! 🙂 And I guess I’ll have to try 87 West some other time…

Leave a Reply

