Family, Good Food, and Nice Wine

Yesterday turned out to be be pretty solid in terms of wine tried, dining out, and most importantly, family time! My sister and I headed to Broken Rocks for lunch, where I had a 2007 Campus Oak Old Vine Zinfandel from Lodi with my Greek salad. Although it wasn’t the most robust Zin I’ve ever had, it was definitely a pleasant, fruit-forward wine. I then had to head to Beachwood for my wine class, but of course, I stopped at Trader Joe’s first to stock up, as well as provide my parents with plenty of good, inexpensive cheese. 🙂 I had planned to go to a restaurant with a strong wine list right next to school, but since it didn’t open until 5:30, I opted for the Taza Lebanese Restaurant in the same shopping plaza as Trader Joe’s. I had pretty yummy Baba Falafel, along with a Casillero del Diablo Cab (Concha Y Toro) from Chile. Again, it wasn’t a weighty cab, but it was perfect with something light such as the falafel. It was also a good value at $6.50/glass. I thoroughly enjoyed my wine class; we focused on varietals this week, and next week we’ll get to pair wine with food! I can’t complain. 🙂 Apparently I had had enough wine for the day, however, because as I tried to finish off my bottle of Kit Fox Foxy Red (which had been open for a few days!), I fell asleep about 10 minutes into “Inglourious Basterds.” I really need to finish that movie at some point!!

Leave a Reply

