Sipping, Snails, Etc…

Truly, I promise, I will put myself on a schedule so that I post more regularly! Life has been pretty crazy busy recently, from working almost every day, to Wednesday night wine classes (I’m now taking the Intermediate WSET course at the Cleveland Wine School), to trying to get in some old-fashioned family time, etc. I recently had the chance to evaluate the career decisions I’ve made thus far, as I was offered a job opportunity. I won’t go into detail – since I decided not to take it – but it basically was a great moment for me to assess where I think my career is headed, and what experience will help me get there. Of course, much of my career is still undecided, but I do know what I DON’T want to do. And that’s more than half the battle! I know that additional opportunities will come along – after all, it’s been less than five months since I moved back to Wooster – so there’s no reason to pounce on the first one that arises. But it was a good test, and it also gave me a swift kick in the butt to be more proactive in my current jobs so that I really get the most out of them. And having recently turned 30, that gives me extra incentive to make more enlightened career decisions than I did in my 20s. 🙂 Otherwise, I continue to meet cool people who enjoy wine and good food – they really do exist in OH! Speaking of good food, I tried escargots for the first time tonight at Europa in Pepper Pike. I realize, of course, that they are not vegetarian, but I am assuming they have not been factory farmed, injected with antibiotics, etc, so I think my overall principles remain intact. 🙂 Sadly, the wine that I drank with it was pretty bad – I think it may have been stored too warm! However, some very good wines I’ve had recently include a 2005 Glen Carlou Grand Classique Bordeaux blend (South Africa), a 2008 Bodegas Borsao Monte Oton Garnacha (Campo de Borja, Spain), a smooth yet spicy 2006 Elizabeth Spencer Special Cuvee Syrah from Sonoma Coast, and a unique 2007 Hedges CMS White (Chardonnay, Marsanne, and Sauvignon Blanc) from Columbia Valley. (Apologies for the lack of tasting notes – I’ll be more thorough next time!)

One Response

  1. Christina:

    I’ll be coming to Wooster – June 11 and will stop by your store to buy some wine for a happy hour we’re having later that day. There will be about 10 of us – I’d love to get your recommendations and to see you in action.

    Write me at my CGIAR address.

    Best – Stacy

Leave a Reply

