Baseball Done Right

OK, so maybe the title of this post is slightly misleading, as for the night to have been perfect, the Indians would have had to win. But since we don’t live in a perfect world, I didn’t expect that. 🙂 The night was my ideal combination of good friends, great food – both the high- and low-brow varieties, my favorite sport, and of course, wine. We started the evening at Greenhouse Tavern on East 4th St., within spitting distance of Progressive (nee Jacobs) Field. I was lucky for this to be my second go-round at the restaurant, and I greedily eyed the other eateries on the street – I can’t wait to return! I started off with some French Breakfast Radishes, which came in a delicious buttery sauce with a delightfully lemony salad, but the radishes themselves were kind of disappointing. They were raw, and I was looking forward to trying them after having been cooked in some interesting way. They did, however, pair nicely with my 2008 Joel Gott Sauvignon Blanc. I then moved on to Artichokes a la Grecque, which were prepared with eggplant puree, pearl onions, and pickled carrots. Divine! I enjoyed them alongside a 2007 Domaine de la Solitude Cotes du Rhone. Although I did try some of my friend’s incredible fries slathered in gravy and mozzarella curds (and cooked in duck fat!), I wanted to save my appetite for dessert. However, nothing on the menu jumped out at me, so I figured I’d get something at the ballpark. We then headed to the game, where we had amazing seats, courtesy of another friend who wasn’t using his season tickets that night. And we didn’t care that the park was practically empty – at least the fans were more enthusiastic than at a Nationals game! In my desperate attempt to find a non-beer beverage, I purchased a bright Kool-Aid red rum “drink,” which tasted about as awful as it sounds. I discovered where the bar is in Center Field, however, so I’ll know for next time! It was also time for a shamelessly unhealthy dessert, and although I had plenty of options, the warm night was crying out for me to have ice cream. I ate every last bite of an Oreo custard Blizzard-esque treat – YUM! Finally, I was extremely grateful that I didn’t have to drive home… I promise to next time. 🙂 I can’t wait for more similar excursions this summer!!

Leave a Reply

