Uncorked on Memorial Day

This post title doesn’t refer to any amazing wine that I had on Memorial Day, but rather, to the fact that I finally had a day off that I could enjoy with friends and family! I took full advantage, starting off the day with a Bellini and soothing bubble bath. I was then lucky enough to briefly host a high school friend whom I rarely get to see. Although I hated to see her go, I also had to finish up an Avocado, Corn, and Tomato Salad, as well as prep a Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp (a super-simple recipe from Animal Vegetable Miracle!) I was contributing to my friend’s BBQ and my parents’ gathering, respectively. Perhaps most importantly, I stirred together my favorite White Sangria, which has been a staple of mine for outdoor concerts and parties for the past 3 years. While cheap sparkling wine mixed with sparkling apple cider and Cointreau may not be a wine connoisseur’s dream come true, it sure is refreshing! The first BBQ was quite the vegetarian feast, replete with black bean burgers, strawberry spinach salad, grilled pineapple, a “salad” of grilled cheese, bread, and onions, and much more. I somehow managed to briefly stop eating and make my way to my parents’, who had gotten impatient and started eating without me. I poured everyone Sangria, and proceeded to dig in to my second buffet. My mom made an absolutely amazing – and gorgeous – vegetable crepe torte, in which crepes were layered with carrots, mushrooms, and spinach. She had been wanting to make this vegetarian recipe for quite some time and finally got the chance. I was bowled over by the obvious labor-intensiveness of the dish! I had a great time hanging out with the fam, especially since my sis and nephews had just gotten back from a week in Myrtle Beach. I missed them! Once everyone got tuckered out, I returned to the BBQ, where Rock Band was all the rage. It was my first time playing, and although my percussion and singing skills leave a lot to be desired, I had had enough to drink that it really didn’t matter anymore. Despite getting caught in a torrential downpour on the way home, it was a perfect day!

Leave a Reply

