An Alsatian Celebration

I’ve been on an Alsatian wine kick as of late, based purely on my love of the region’s Gewurztraminer, as well as the much richer expression of the Pinot Blanc and Pinot Gris grapes than can be found elsewhere. However, I had yet to sample an Alsace Riesling, although I knew that the region was known for its dry style, rather than the typically sweeter German Rieslings. Thus, based on my boss’s recommendation, I ordered a 2006 Zind Humbrecht Herrenweg de Turckheim Riesling (retail: $29.99). I was waiting for the right moment to open it, and I figured that would come after I finished my wine class exam and was able to share the bottle with my neighbors, who are also Riesling lovers. Before my exam, I headed to West Point Market to find the perfect cheese parings for the Riesling. I think my expectations were a bit high, given that the pairings I had found recommended cheeses that were only produced by a few random artisans in small Swiss valleys. Despite this, I don’t think it was wrong of me to be disappointed when the young woman in the cheese section recommended Brie. I decided to read the labels myself and find a mild cheese, and I selected Drunken Goat and Campo de Montalban, both from Spain. Really, you can’t go wrong with cheese and wine, but I wanted to put forth some effort. In the end, both the wine and the cheese ended up being a hit. The Riesling was so unique – I was expecting something dry and crisp, but it was much more complex. Although it was dry, it had botrytis aromas and flavors and was quite full-bodied. I am very eager to try some more Zind Humbrecht wines!

Leave a Reply

