A Different Kind of Sauvignon Blanc

It probably sounds silly to claim that a Sancerre is a “different” Sauvignon Blanc, since this part of the Loire Valley has been growing the grape for eons longer than New Zealand and Napa, the two regions from which these wines are most readily available in the US. Since most of my experience has been with these areas, I am used to the grassy, herbaceous, punch-you-in-the-face NZ version, or the still green, but fruitier warm climate style from Napa. I was pleasantly surprised by this 2007 Pascal Jolivet Sancerre ($27.99 at SoMar), which was much more restrained – austere, but still fun, with peach and citrus on the nose and citrus, apricot, and mineral components on the palate. Thoroughly enjoyable, although I’m not sure how often I would dole out that kind of money for an SB. Drinking it reminded me of the BW (Before Wine) era in my life, when I ordered a Sancerre at Bistrot du Coin in DC, not having any idea what it was. The waitress didn’t know either. I basically ordered it because I thought it had a pretty name, and ironically, at the time, I thought I hated Sauvignon Blanc. It’s nice to see how far I’ve come! 🙂 (Please pardon the fuzzy photo – I clearly don’t have one of the awesome cameras that all the food bloggers have!)

Leave a Reply

