Savory Summer Pie Meets an Old Friend from Napa

When it comes to making the most of my farmers market veggies, I’m all about simplicity – and cheese. It might be an exaggeration to say that I automatically disregard all recipes that do not include cheese, but it’s not far from the truth. Thus, I was pleased to stumble upon this recipe for a Roasted Zucchini and Tomato Ricotta Pie in the Washington Post. I made a similar version last year from Martha Stewart, which had more eggs and less cheese, making it more of a frittata. Although the former tasted fine, I must admit that I significantly preferred the latter. The ricotta version was far too runny, and I also like the zip of the feta better. Regardless, who can be unhappy when presented with roasted summer veggies and cheese?? For this recipe, I pulled out a delicious and refreshing 2007 Trefethen Dry Riesling (Oak Knoll). I visited this winery last September on the recommendation of a dear friend, and I was not disappointed. The excellent tour, the charming atmosphere, and the terrific wines combined to make it the best experience of my trip. I took a bottle of the Riesling with me last year, and I was pleased to find out that I could acquire it in OH too. This light straw-colored wine almost makes you feel like you should be seaside, with its minerally nose and hints of citrus. The palate brings more citrus, including grapefruit and lemon peel. In this 90+degree, 90+% humidity weather, you couldn’t ask for a more appropriate wine.

Leave a Reply

